View all ยป

Latest News

The Louisiana Bridge Association (LBA) is the largest bridge club in the greater New Orleans area. It is also the oldest, dating back to 1941. The LBA is part of ACBL Unit 134, District 10 which has over 1,300 members, ranging from new players with a few master points to Grand Life Masters with over 25,000.

Bridge Etiquette Workshop Review

 

           
Bridge Etiquette Workshop August 12,2016
             
Speaker: Drew Casen        
             
  PLEASE RESERVE ALL QUESTIONS UNTIL THE
  CONCLUSION OF MY PRESENTATION  
             
Topics : Convention Card      
  Each partner should have a completed convention card.  
  Your opponents are entitled to know your agreements and
  conventions without you being aware of exactly what  
  information they are attemptiing to discover.    
  It is also important that you do not leave your convention card on
  the table with your private scores facing up !    
             
  Various conventions that appear on the convention card are in
  different colors: Black, Red, and Blue. Those colors indicate when
  you should alert (red), when you should just announce what the
  agreement is without alerting (blue), and when you should neither
  alert nor make any announcement whatsoever (black).  
  There will be more on this later in our workshop when I explain
  the alert procedure rules and guidelines.    
             
  Bidding Box        
  It is improper to touch various bidding cards in the bidding
  box while you are thinking about what to bid. It conveys
  U.I. (Unauthorized Information) to your partner.  
             
  If we didn't use bidding boxes, would you be allowed to
  say " hmmmmm, I'm not sure I should double or bid, or I'm
  not sure if should bid 3S or 4C." by pulling cards out and
  then 'changing your mind' you are conveying U.I."
             
  Take your time, decide in your brain what call you want to
  make without letting everyone else know what options
  you are considering, and then pull out the card and play it.
             
  Try to play in tempo both bidding and card play.  
             
  However, if you make a mechanical error, that is different.
  Lets face it, some of us are not as coordinated as  much
  as we once were.        
  When alerting, say alert AND pull out the Blue alert card
  and wave it around and place it on the table. Remember
  that some of us don’t see or hear as well as we used to.
             
  The Bridgemate      
  When the auction is over, in an attempt to save time and
  keep the game moving, it is considerate if the opening
  leader make their opening lead before writing their score
  in their convention card.      
  In addition, the north player that is in charge of the bridge
  mate, if they are the dummy, should also put down the
  dummy before entering the information in or entering
  the contract into their private convention card.  
  Making sure you look at what you are approving BEFORE
  you approve it would make our directors job easier.
  Discussion about the hands should always be done quietly,
  and you should finish all 2 or 3 boards of the round
  before you discuss any of the boards.    
  Courtesy at trick one      
  If your partner leads a card and you play or detach a card
  before declarer calls for a card, you are guilty of giving
  partner U.I. because they know that you have no  problem.
  It is improper to play when it is not your turn to do so.
  As declarer, you should not play quickly at trick one even
  though you have no problem on trick one to allow your
  opponent time to think before playing.  
             
  Alert Procedure      
  As mentioned earlier, you should say 'alert' for items on
  the convention card highlighted in RED and simply
  announce the items highlighted in BLUE.  
             
  Only say ALERT if you have a partnerhip agreement that
  you have discussed. Do not ALERT if you are unsure as to
  whether or not you have such an agreement.  
             
  Do not volunteer what the explanation of the ALERT is
  unless one of the opponents asks you for an explanation.
             
  Do not say anything to anyone at the table during the
  auction if your partner has given the opponents an
  explanation that is incorrect or that you do not agree with.
             
  When the auction is over and you are defending do not
  try to correct any misinformation that you think your side
  has given because in doing so you are helping your partner.
             
             
             
             
  However, if you are the declarer or dummy, and either one
  of you think that there has been mis information, then you
  should speak up BEFORE the opening lead in an attempt
  to help the opponents from possible damages.  
  This is because anything you say at this point cannot help
  your side anymore, it can only help the opponents.
  If your opponent asks you about a bid that partner made,
  the worst thing you can do is say "Im taking it as such as
  such".  We all know what it might or might not be.
  It is improper to enlighten you partner as to its meaning
  unless you have a FIRM agreement.    
  Don't say TRANSFER unless the only meaning of that bid
  is that your partner promises  at least 5 cards in that suit.
  If you are interested about the exact current ACBL rules
  with respect to the ALERT procedure, visit the ACBL site.
  The exact link is:        
  http://web2.acbl.org/documentlibrary/play/AlertProcedures.pdf  
Add content

Contact us!

Email us at mail@la-bridge.com or fill out this form and we'll get back to you!

Add content