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President’s Message May 2017  
 

The April 22 benefit game for the Baton Rouge club was a success with 27 tables in play and over $2,000 

raised for this very good cause.  THANKS to everyone who participated.  It was fun and very much      

appreciated by our friends from Baton Rouge. 

Carolyn Dubois is spearheading a “youth day” at the club on June 17, 2017 (10-12 AM for 9 year old 

to teen, 12-3 PM for teen through college age).  Attendees will be introduced to rudimentary trump based 

card games as a prelude to learning bridge.  Please try to attend with a youngster or two.  There will be no 

fees, and snacks will be provided. 

A new EZ Bridge class will be star ted May 1 in the evenings from 6:30 to 8:30 PM.  This is a good 

way for working folks to learn the game.  First four lessons are free.  Please tell your friends. 

New Orleans has been selected to host the March, 2023 Spring Nationals at the Marriott.  We have also 

been allocated a Regional in 2021.  The board you elect for next year will likely make the decision as to 

whether or not we will pursue this Regional as it is so close to the National.  Both will require lots of   

volunteer time and energy.   

On the subject of Regional, we are in the early planning stages for hosting a Non Life Master Regional at 

our clubhouse in early summer 2019. This tournament will be limited to Non Life Masters who have less 

than 750 points and will pay 25% GOLD points for overall places and section tops.  Sounds like a great 

way to earn GOLD without leaving town.  More on this later as plans are firmed up. 

As most of you know the 299er Sectional was a big success with the table count up from last year by 85% 

from 47 to 87.  Finances were likewise up significantly.  Changing to a Thursday, Friday, 1/2 Saturday 

from a Friday, Saturday, 1/2 Sunday schedule was a big factor in the improvements.  Thanks again to   

Diana Powell and Myra Groome for heading up this event.   

Don’t forget the upcoming Dot Babin memorial “Run for the Roses” Sectional in early May.  Get your 

partners and bring your “A” game to this very fun event.  Derby wagering and whiskey slushes will be 

continued and hats are strongly encouraged!! 

Jim Thornton 

May Events 
*= Extra points,**=Extra points, no extra fee 

May 1 Grass Roots Fund Game* MonAM $7                                     

May 3 Char ity Game* Wed $7                          

May 4-7 Derby Day Sectional  Thurs-Sun                       

May 9  Unit Championship**  Tues nite                       

May 15-21 Hot Spr ings Regional Mon-Sun                                        

May 21 D10 GNT  Hot Spr ings  Sun  

May 15-21  Club Championship Week**             

     Mon-Sun 

 May 22 Char ity Game* $7 Mon nite 

 May 25  Unit Championship** Thurs                                        

   In Memoriam 

     Roger Asher 

     Kay Siebel 

Metairie 299er Sectional  Firsts 
Thurs Newcomer Pairs 
Mary Bailey & Dianne Thames 
Thurs AM Pairs 
Joy Eigher & Jane Meyer; 
Curtis Castle & Carol Castle Flt C 
Thurs PM Pairs 
Ruth Rosenthal & Jean Frank 
Sarah Jane Luchsinger & Philip Luchsinger Flt B 
Fri AM Pairs  
Irene Labiche & Michael Mooney 
Quin Bates & Sarah Dabney Jacob Flt B 
Fri PM Pairs  
Virginia McMurray & Virginia Dabbs 
Sat Pairs 
Margaret Shirer & Susan Martin 
Molly Sylvia & Kathryn Talbot Flt B 

Want more info for the classes in Jim’s memo? 
Mon Eve EZBridge: Sharon Henry 504-458-5336  
Youth Day: Carolyn Dubois cdubois53@bellsouth.net 

Wed Grand Slam Jackpots—see p. 3. 



PAUL’S DEAL OF THE MONTH.  This month's column is intended for intermediate level players and could be titled 
"MAINTAINING CONTROL WITH A WEAK TRUMP SUIT."   See hand below left. 

 

At our table,  on declarer's lead of a low trump at trick two, West made the mistake of splitting ♥QJ honors, in effect 
forcing declarer to win the ♥A immediately in case the ♥J was a singleton but to everyone's surprise except East, 
down came the ♥K.  I leave it to the reader to work out how declarer could then make six for an absolute top board 
but that is not the point of the column.  The real point is that declarer could afford to lose three trump tricks and still 
make game successfully with such a weak trump holding by setting up diamonds after one round of trumps.  On a club 
opening lead, there being a 4-1 trump split, playing only one round of trumps before starting diamonds would have 
been essential to achieve success making four hearts. 

Now What? By Arnaldo Partesotti 

I played this deal as South in a recent game. You however get to do one better, and play all four positions and see 
how you would have done with your bidding style with each hand. Or, in other words, let’s play “Now What?” 
Dealer N  E-W Vul 

 North 
 ♠K98753 
 ♥5 
 ♦6542 
 ♣53 
West                         East 
♠QT                          ♠AJ642 
♥976                        ♥KQJ8 
♦KQJ7                       ♦ --- 
♣AJ64                      ♣9872 
 South 
 ♠--- 
 ♥AT432 
 ♦AT983 
 ♣KQT 
 
Now what? North was in a pickle! From his point of view my minor suit was most likely clubs and he had no bright 
prospects. After a lot of thinking he passed. I disagree with this decision. Knowing that you have 5 or 6 spades on 
your left, and at best 1 in partner’s hand, I would take my medicine and bid 2NT inquiring about partner’s minor. At 
worst we will play in a 7 cards club fit, instead of a 6 or 7 spade fit with a known bad split.  
Now what? With a known ♥ suit in South and a ♠ suit in North, and a silent partner, East had no bid left and passed. 
She could have doubled - the penalty would have made no difference - but she could have brought her partner back 
to life. Would you have reopened with a double? 
As it is we ended up playing 2♠ down one (do not ask) for a top. Truth is that N-S could make 3♦, so North’s decision 
to pass 2♠ was wrong. And E-W can make 4NT, so East’s and West’s decisions to pass at their respective turns were 
wrong also. I guess the moral of this story is, if you are not sure, just bid one more, don’t we do that all the time    
anyway? 

 ♠AQx 
 ♥A10xx 
 ♦KJ10xxx 
 ♣void 
♠Jxxx  ♠xxxx 
♥QJxx  ♥K 
♦Qxx  ♦xx 
♣Jx  ♣KQ10xxx 
 ♠Kx 
 ♥987x 
 ♦Ax 
 ♣Axxxx 

On the oft stated maxim that "it’s a bidder's game," South, as dealer, started things 
with 1C.  Without interference, our entire auction proceeded 1C-1D-1H-4H, the final 
contract.  It could be said that South bid too much and North bid too little but the two 
hands averaged out nicely at 4H.  The opening lead from West was a low spade, won 
by declarer's king.  Having luckily avoided a club opening lead, the only lead which 
could have given declarer an immediate control problem, the question became "what 
should declarer lead at trick two?"  At rubber bridge or  IMPS, one sensible line would 
be to cash the Ace of hearts, leave the  remaining trumps outstanding and ruff out the 
diamonds, conceding three trump tricks but making game when the diamond suit sets 
up.  At matchpoints,  declarer could first duck one round of hearts, win the next trick 
and then play a second round of trumps, finessing if West played low trumps on both 
leads, losing at most two trump tricks, making five.          

North passed as dealer - I assume that you agree. East opened 1♠ - I assume that you 
agree also, nine cards in the majors, eleven HCP and a void make for an opening 
hand.  
 
Now what? As South over 1♠ I bid 2♠ (Michaels cue-bid: five hearts and a five card 
minor - not identified - with close to an opening bid or better.) In my mind this is the 
hand they use in bridge books to illustrate this type of bid, but it might be a bit too 
strong. Nobody’s perfect! Would you have done the same thing, or would you have 
doubled, or would you have bid 2♥? I stand by my bid. 
Now what? West passed, I am guessing she was awaiting developments, or she was 
trapping, and she had no spade support, and no stopper in hearts. All good reasons, 
but bridge is not a game for the faint of heart.  I would definitely enter the bidding 
with a double to let partner know that we have the stronger hands, and we should try 
for game or, since I am holding both minors, we should have excellent prospects for 
penalizing the opponents. Would you pass or double? 

OOPS! 

In the April Kibitzer we reported Paul Rosenblum & Jacob Karno were first in Flight B of the Thursday PM 
299er Pairs in the Baton Rouge Sectional.  Of course that was in Flight B of the Thursday PM Open Pairs. 

Another senior moment by yours truly!  Sorry about that. 



Know the Director's Rulings 
by Jennie Flynn Sauviac 
 

Pass Out of Rotation, part 2, Law 30.  See the April Kibitzer for Part 1. 

 

If the pass is not accepted--After any player has bid 
 

1.  When a pass out of rotation is made at offender's RHO's turn to call after any player has bid, offender must 
pass when next it is his turn to call 
 
2.  When, after any player has bid, the offender passes out of rotation at his partner's turn to call 
   (a) the offender must pass whenever it is his turn to call, and Law 23* may apply, and 
   (b) offender's partner may make any sufficient bid or may pass, but he may not double or redouble at that turn, 
and Law 23 may apply 
 
3. After any player has bid, a pass out of rotation at offender's LHO's turn to call is treated as a change of call 
and Law 25** applies. 
 
*Law 23 provides for redress when offender could know his action might damage the other side 
**Law 25 governs legal and illegal changes of call. It has been discussed in previous articles.  Issues include 
whether the original call was unintended and change was made without pause for thought. 

Seeing spots 

An important element of good declarer play is keeping track of the spots in a suit you are playing.   
Suppose this is your trump suit, you are pulling trumps and you have no transportation or control problems and no 
worthwhile additional information.   
       
   Dummy   ♠AJ54   You   ♠Q876.   
 
How should you play this suit?   
   Of course you should lead the ♠6 toward dummy and if West plays low, finesse the ♠J.   
     
    Take 1:  Suppose on that trick LHO played the ♠2 and RHO the ♠3.  What now?  Since you are still missing the 
♠KT9, your best shot is to cash the ♠A, hoping that LHO was dealt the doubleton ♠K.  If so, you lose no trump tricks. 
    Take 2:  Suppose instead that when you lead the ♠6 toward dummy, the ♠2 appears on your left, you put in the 
♠J, and the ♠9 appears on your right.  What now?  Evidently the still guarded ♠K is on your left and RHO was dealt 
the doubleton ♠109 or the stiff ♠9.  So your best move is to return to hand and play the ♠Q toward dummy.  If RHO 
was dealt the doubleton ♠109 then you now pin the ♠10 on your right and pick up the whole suit, while if RHO was 
dealt the stiff ♠9 you now hold your trump losers to one instead of two. 

Gotcha!  Actually RHO was dealt ♠1093 and dropped the ♠9 at trick one.  This gave you a losing option which you 
unfortunately accepted.  You lost a trick you did not need to lose.  This play was risk free for RHO since if he had 
followed with the ♠3 you were going to roll up the suit anyway. 
   
This play by RHO is called an obligatory false card.  An obligatory false card is the play of unnaturally high spot to 
give declarer a losing option in a situation where he could not go wrong against straightforward defense.  It is 
called “obligatory” because it cannot cost and might gain, so it is the only proper play.   
 
To pull off one of these at the table you must be ready to play smoothly and in tempo, and advance familiarity with 
such positions helps a lot.  You can read examples of such positions in the Encyclopedia of Bridge, or in the book 
Eddie Kantar Teaches Advanced Bridge Defense, or in any number of sites on the web (Google "obligatory false 
cards").  They are fun to read about.  The example above was taken from Eddie Kantar's book. 
 

These false cards won't work against players who don't keep track of the spot cards—they work best against good 

players.  But they do not cost, and executing one of these would make your day!   

Wednesday Grand Slam Jackpots 

Apr 26   Toby Young & Paul Freese,  Larry Federico & John Federico, 

Sherrie Goodman & Carol Bagalman,  Joan Van Geffen & Dee Moses,   

Iype Koshy & Linda Freese 


