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President’s Message May 2018  

 
   Our April 299er Tournament was a big success.  We had a record turn-out in numbers of tables. Everyone had a 

great time thanks to our co-chairpersons, Kitty Klaus and Margaret Shirer who worked diligently throughout the 
whole tournament! 

    Don’t forget to attend the Derby Day Tournament May 3-6.  On the Saturday of the tournament, ladies are 

encouraged to wear their favorite hats.  Everyone will be invited to drink slushy Mint Juleps during the Run for the 

Roses.   
    As part of the American Contract Bridge League, we support the charity, The Longest Day.  The Longest Day is 

a sunrise-to-sunset event to raise funds to fuel the care, support and research efforts of the ALZHEIMER’S         

ASSOCIATION. Held on the summer solstice, the longest day of the year , June 21, 2018, will be chair ed at 
our club by Steven Romig.  Please make plans to play throughout the day and donate generously to this worthy 

cause.  You will need partners for six 12-board games held throughout the day starting at 8am. 

    Our parking is really, really tight.  Please park between the yellow lines, not on top of them.   
     

Let’s play bridge!     

 

Linda Freese 

 
      May Events 

*= extra points, no extra fees 

**=extra points, extra fees 

May 3-6 Derby Day Sectional  Thurs-Sun 

May 10  ACBL Grass Roots Fund Game**    

    Thurs 

May 10-12 Lafayette NLM Regional  

  and Open Sectional Thurs-Sat 

May 14-20 Club Championship Week*  

   Mon-Sat     

May 21 ACBL Grass Roots Fund Game**   

    Mon                

May 24  Unit Championship** Thurs                         

May 28  Unit Championship** Mon                      

NEW MEMBERS 
Peggy Armstrong, Dean Bedekar, Charles 
Carson, Angeline Christie, Charles Neuman 

RANK ADVANCEMENTS 
NEW JUNIOR MASTERS 
Joanne Espersen, Barbara Holdsworth 
NEW CLUB MASTERS 
Linda Neill, Claire Webb, Becky Zaheri 
NEW SECTIONAL MASTERS 
Susan Glennon, Robert Reich, Joanna   
  Suravitch 
NEW NABC MASTERS 
Joan Lennox, Ronald Ocmond 
NEW ADVANCED NABC MASTERS 
Mary Hanni, Elaine Wilczynski 
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299er Sectional firsts 
Thurs 0-20  Mary Fine & Kathy Plauche 
Thurs AM  Wayne Wells & Mercedes Wells 72.47%;    
Michael Schlosser & Peck Hayne Flt C 
Thurs PM  Bernie Vanderlinden & Ronald Ocmond; 
Kathy Young & Millie Ortego Flt C 
Fri AM Gigi Matthews & Kathleen Vogel 70.49%; Mary 
Hillery & Myra Menville Flt C 
Fri PM Kitty Klaus & Denise Tabor; Melanie Thompson 
& Peck Hayne Flt C 
Sat AM Om Garg & Lallie Garg; Kitty Klaus & Denise    
Tabor Flt B; Sarah Dabney Jacobs & Quin Bates Flt C 

Wednesday Grand Slam Jackpots 
Apr 11  Marti & Sandy Sisco, Red Hailey & Norma Phillips, Larry  
  Federico & John Federico 



PAUL’S DEAL OF THE MONTH.  Let's begin by first getting the bridge terminology straight.  A "double" at bridge is a 
"call," not a "bid," the latter of which is a "call" designating a number (bidding  level) and a trump suit or NT.  
"Double" can have one of multiple possible meanings, depending upon the auction in which it is used.  The call 
"double" will usually mean either (1)  I don't think you can make what you have bid; or  (2)  My opponent has opened 
ahead of me but I have a good hand and would like for you to bid  to describe and limit your hand offensively; or (3)  I 
am suggesting a lead if you are on opening lead or gain the lead during the play of the hand.  NOTE--In some            
sophisticated partnerships "double" can also mean "do not lead the suit I have bid," or "Partner, your forcing 1C or 2C 
opening bid has been overcalled by my RHO and I have no values at all to show," or other rarely used meanings not 

relevant to this discussion.   
 
Today's example hand (at left) illustrates an instance in which "double" conventionally 
meant "lead dummy's first bid suit," —a Lightner double. The auction at our table in a 
New Orleans Swiss Team event, with North as dealer and all not vulnerable, was replete 
with action and competition, all bids being natural unless otherwise explained, to wit, 1D-
2C-2H-3C-4C (club control and strong heart support)-4S (two suiter)-X (I have two or more 
spade losers)-P (I can stand spades but have shown club support)-5H (good hand for 
hearts but no offsuit controls not already shown)-P (not sure whether we should save in 
clubs)-6H (I have previously unannounced diamond control)-P-P-X (lead directing--please 
lead dummy's first bid suit)-P-P-P (nowhere else to run).  On the requested diamond lead 
East ruffed and cashed the ♠A, achieving a satisfying +100.  When played at the other    
table our North opened 1H, not 1D, fearing that opening 1D and later bidding hearts (a 

voluntary "reverse") would mislead partner by implying much greater high card strength than that held.  The         
complete auction at that table was 1H-2C-3C (big heart  support, limit heart raise or better, ambiguous about club 
control)-4C-5C (club control)-5S (two suiter save)-6D (control bid but have we managed to reach slam without a spade 
control?)-P-6H (lucky but I have second round spade control, as you will soon find out)-P-P-P (Not clear to either    
defender whether to save against the slam or not.  Many experts would suggest saving at IMPs but not at           
matchpoints, i.e., bid one more if you're not sure.).  By sheer happenstance the 6H slam makes from the North side, 
as only the ♠A will cash, all other losers being disposed of on the long diamonds.  When 6H is played from the South 
side, either the ♠Q lead or a diamond lead will set the contract.  Note that on the ♠Q lead the slam can actually be set 
two if West wins the ♠J at the second trick and gives East a belated diamond ruff.  But the important point to be made 
by this hand is that East had the rare chance to "double" requesting an unusual lead,  usually dummy's first bid suit, 
which would have set the slam even if South had held the ♠Q or a singleton.   

         N    ♠Kx 
 ♥A10xxx 
        ♦KQxxxx 
 ♣void 
W  E 
♠QJx  ♠Axxxx 
♥x  ♥Qx 
♦Jxxxx  ♦void 
♣Q10xx  ♣KJxxxx 
         S ♠xxx 
 ♥KJxxx 
 ♦Ax 
 ♣Axx 

Baton Rouge Sectional Firsts 
Thurs AM Jamie Bush & John Onstott      
    71.21% 
Fri AM  Larry Federico & Idell Adams 
Sat AM Bob Bowers & Jamie Bush 
Sat PM Iype Koshy & Tim Joder 
Sun Swiss Bkt 1 Jamie Bush-Bob Bowers-Iype    
  Koshy-Tim Joder 
          Bkt 2 Vicki Willis-Sue Himel-Janice    
Henderson-Carol Hawley 

A Gatlinburg Regional First 
Tues Wed KO 15  Mimi Groome et al 

A Coral Springs Regional First 
Sat Swiss Teams Bkt 1  Drew Casen et al 

Seventy Percent Games 
Thurs Eve Fast Pairs Apr 19 Phantom & Louise Ritter 
99er Pairs Apr 13 Thomas York & Sandra Broussard 71.88% 
 Apr 22 John Perkins & Lori Perkins 76.67% 
Open Pairs Apr 23 Jacob Karno & Drew Casen 73.08% 
See also BR Sectional Firsts and 299er Sectional Firsts 

Kibitzer Kudos Large and Small 

1. Congrats to Jean Talbot and Larry Federico who had a 70.71% game in the March 19 ACBL  
Senior Pairs.  They finished first in District 10 and seventh over the entire ACBL. 

2. Recognizing unsung hero Bummy Rosenfield.  Whenever we have visitors or new players 
coming to town he always volunteers to play with them to get them started at LBA.  He seems 
to run taxi service…..anyone needing a ride from uptown, downtown?  No problem for him!  
He is our chief vote counter for our elections…..a total thankless job. And he has provided    
major assistance to Lil and Jack in building up the Sunday Swiss game.  He definitely goes under 
the radar as a volunteer extraordinaire. 

3. Active ethics—Marti Sisco claimed her contract and the claim was accepted and scored up.   
Though she had the high trump Marti realized she had not specified that she would pull trump, 
changed her claim to a trick less and got the server score corrected.   



Bidding Can Always be Better  By: Arnaldo Partesotti 

  Playing with a reliable partner, I pick up this hand with great potential in the South position: 
    ♠AQT84   ♥T   ♦AK52   ♣AT6 
  With the opponents always passing, I open 1♠, partner bids 2♣ (2/1 forcing to game), I jump to 3♦ to show my     
excellent hand, and partner bids 5♦. What is he doing? My guess is that he is showing 5-5 or 5-6 in the minors with 
excellent Clubs, and a very minimum 2/1 bid, he is afraid to go too high and is trying to put on the brakes. From my 
point of view, if he has the ♣KQ and the ♥A or the ♦Q, a slam should be cold. With no additional information, I jump 
“in the dark” to 6♦,  the full hand (East Dealer, all vul) being below left.   
 North 
 ♠J 
 ♥A 
 ♦98764 
 ♣KQ9752 
West                       East  
♠K975                     ♠632 
♥J98753                 ♥KQ642 
♦J                             ♦QT3 
♣83                         ♣J4 
 South  
 ♠AQT84  
 ♥T 
 ♦AK52 
 ♣AT6 
 
Notice that playing RKCB1430 after a response of 5♣ you would like to bid 5♦ to ask for the trump Queen, but in this 
case 5♦ would have been a sign-off, thus the 5♥ bid to ask for the Queen. 

The slam is unbeatable, as long as Diamonds do not break 4-0. Win any lead, draw two 
rounds of trumps, cash the ♠A, run the Clubs and claim, East may win the ♦Q       
whenever he wants. Surprisingly, this was a top, out of 18 tables only one other pair 
bid the slam, everybody else was in 3NT, 5♣, 5♦ or lower. As I keep saying, at the club 
we should not be proud of our slam bidding abilities (or lack thereof!) 
But Partner and I should not be proud of our bidding either on this hand. After 1♠ - 2♣ 
I should have bid 2♦,  no need to jump to 3♦, partner had already established a game 
force. Partner should then bid 3♦, setting trumps, and I could start cue-bidding (first or 
second round controls indifferent, as is now played and recommended by all experts) 
to show my super hand and slam ambitions: 3♥ by me, 3♠ by partner, 4♣ by me, 4♦ by 
partner, 4♠ by me, 4NT by partner asking for Key-cards (do you have the ♦A and ♦K?), 
5♣ by me (1 or 4 Key-cards, in this case clearly 4), 5♥ by partner (do you have the 
♦Q?), 6♦ by me (no, I do not, end of transmission). If I had the ♦Q I would have bid 5♠ 
or 6♣ (K of the suit bid + the ♦Q) or 5NT (♦Q with no K’s) and we could have bid 7♦ 

with confidence. Bridge is such an easy game! 

    Get Well Cards are Back! 
Lillian Kirshbom will again take care of get well cards and sympathy cards.  If you know someone who is ill, or 
someone who has passed, please let Lillian know.  In the case of a death, she will need to know where to send the 
sympathy card.  Remember, these need not be close friends of yours--we just need your help in identifying them. 
Lillian's contact information is (504)-289-8186 (phone) and lrk1939@yahoo.com (email) 

Direktor’s Korner 
Topic:  Opening leads:  Etiquette, Partnership, Play 
Director in Charge:  Diamond Lil 
 We all know the rules: place the opening lead face down on the table, ask if partner has any    
questions, and then expose the opening lead. In addition, though, opening leads have etiquette,           
partnership, and play issues.  
Etiquette issue: take as long as you need to decide on the lead, make the lead, and then record the   
contract. Many players mistakenly think that they should record the contract first. No.  Recording the  
contract first slows play, a reason for some director calls.  
Partnership issue: recording contract before making the opening lead slows down information going to 
your  partner, giving partner more time to forget about your bids, opponent bids, and any inferences from 
tempo. Not good. So, go ahead and record the contract if your partner makes the opening lead, but make 
the lead first if you are the opening leader.  
Play issue #1: maximize your time to consider the opening lead. Say you have a boring 7 points. Your 
right-hand opponent opens 1NT. Likely scenario: you are going to be on opening lead. So, should you be 
thinking about lunch? The cute earrings on South at the next table? Who is going to win the playoffs? No. 
You should be thinking about your opening lead. Did the opponents jump immediately to 3NT? If yes, are 
you going to try the ♠J from ♠JT87? Are you going to try your 2-card heart suit, hoping to hit partner’s long 
suit? Give yourself the maximum amount of time to consider all variables by thinking about your opening 
lead during the auction, rather than after the bidding. 
Play issue #2: make inferences about fast or slow opening leads. Say your partner has optimistically put 
you in a sketchy 6H contract, and opening leader takes a long time to think before leading. When dummy 
appears, you realize that you must finesse the ♥Q to make this contract, and you can finesse either        
opponent. Given all smooth passes from opponents during bidding, is there any other information to   
consider? Yes. Why did the opening leader take so long? One possible inference is that opening leader 
holds the ♥Q, and was thinking about protecting her. Not much, but more than nothing. Thinking about 
the opening lead during the auction can prevent you from hinting that you are trying to protect a valuable 
card. 



Two Vienna Coups   

Board 6 of the April 12 Thursday Open Game presented an interesting plan the play problem for East.  EW 
were vulnerable and East dealt.  The EW hands were 
  
  West  ♠A9 ♥AKJ9 ♦AQ83 ♣A54    East  ♠KJ6 ♥1053 ♦K2 ♣KQJ82.   
 
At the table, twelve pairs got to 6NT and two others got to 7NT.  Neither pair in 7NT made their contract, 
and only two of the twelve pairs in 6NT actually made 7NT, though there was an excellent line of play   
available. 
 
    Assume you are East, declaring 6NT with a lead of the ♦J.  You win in hand, and cash the ♣A to check that 
clubs will run.  Both opponents follow so the clubs will run. You can now count 12 tricks (5 clubs,                    
3 diamonds, 2 top hearts and 2 top spades.)  The question is, how best to try for an overtrick.  You note that 
a successful heart finesse or a successful spade finesse would bring in that overtrick, and does not risk the 
contract.  But you can try only one of these, and it figures to be a 50% shot, and also causes no confusion to 
the defense.  Can you do better?   
      
     Consider this squeeze line:  Cash the ♠A,♠K, ♥A and ♥K, and then run the clubs, throwing the remaining 
two hearts from dummy.  After running all the clubs you will come down to 3 cards in your hand--the ♠J, the 
♥10 and the ♦2.  Dummy will have ♦AQ8.  One opponent started with at least 4 diamonds, and he will be 
the only one who can guard the diamonds.  If he also has either major suit queen he will have to give up 
that queen or unguard the diamonds, allowing you to make 7NT.   
     
    Let's evaluate these three lines--the two major suit finesses and the squeeze.  Immediately taking either 
major suit finesse is straightforward and will not give the defenders any headache.  If you gain some insight 
from the lead, and you know your opponents well, that may or may not alter your estimate of how likely 
one of these finesses is to succeed. Iffy.  To keep things simple, let's say either finesse is a 50% shot.  A     
layout enabling our squeeze to succeed is certainly more likely than that.  In addition to the small chances 
that a major queen simply drops in the first five tricks, the probability that at least one major queen is in the 
same hand as the diamond guard should be in the 65 to 75% range, depending on how long you think the 
long diamond holding is.  And the lengthy line of play increases the chance the opponents will misdefend,        
especially in a club field.  So the squeeze looks like the best line. 
 
    At the table, in the actual Board 6 layout, the diamond leader had 6 diamonds and the ♠Q, while his   
partner had 5 hearts to the ♥Q.  So both finesses fail but the squeeze works. 
 
Pedagogic note: in this squeeze, we unblock the top honors in spades and in hearts before running the 
clubs.  These maneuvers are known as Vienna coups, so called because such unblocking plays date from the 
early 19th century whist literature, where they were attributed to "the best player in Vienna."  The point of 
these unblocks is not really to add genuine pressure on the opponents, but to clarify the major suit situation 
for the declarer.  It makes it impossible for an opponent to unguard a major queen without discarding it.  If 
you did not play off the top honors in a suit before running the clubs, and an opponent unguarded that 
queen, you would be guessing about whether that queen was unguarded.  These coups simplify your work--
either a major queen pops, or the diamonds run, or you fail. 


